Morris County Freeholders Are Library Champions

NJ Librarians Bestow Prestigious Award to Freeholders

Morristown, NJ – Morris County’s Board of Chosen Freeholders will be honored with the 2016 New Jersey Library Association (NJLA) Library Champion Award in Atlantic City on May 17th at the annual NJLA Conference Awards Ceremony.

The NJLA’s Library Champion award is given annually in recognition of an exceptional contribution to a New Jersey library, group of libraries, or to a New Jersey Library community. Morris County Freeholders were cited to have, “stepped  up  to  the  plate  and  helped  to  supply  the  logistics  and  finances  needed”  to  ensure  a  smooth  organizational restructuring by the Morris Automated Information Network (MAIN), the cost‐sharing cooperative to which all of Morris County’s public libraries are members.

Jayne Beline, Parsippany Public Library Director and MAIN’s President, stated: “This award is given annually to those who make a positive impact on library service in New Jersey.” Ms. Beline continued, “I cannot think of a more deserving group of individuals, since the Freeholders listened to the ideas of the MAIN directors and gave us the resources needed to create a new entity to better serve our residents. I speak for the MAIN libraries and their boards, when I say that we are thrilled that the Freeholders will be awarded this statewide recognition.”

Established in 1890, the NJLA is the oldest and largest library organization in New Jersey. The NJLA advocates for the advancement of library services for residents of New Jersey, supports the principles of intellectual freedom, and promotes access to library materials for all.

MAIN was originally created in 1980 to help oversee the initial automation of the county’s library systems. Over time,  it  has  evolved  into  a  full‐fledged  public  library  consortium  which  offers  its  members  cost‐sharing  opportunities, technical support, and an organizational structure conducive to collaboration and efficient management of tax dollars.

# # #

For further information please contact Phillip Berg, MAIN Executive Director, or visit