The libraries in MAIN provide access to 200+ databases covering a wide variety of
topics. Each library offers a unique collection of reference databases, selected
to meet the needs of its local patrons. Every library also has its own policy
regarding downloading, paper fees and time limits.
Ask your local library
for details.
Several of our databases are
available in all MAIN libraries;
some of these are
accessible from home
with a valid MAIN library card. Don't have one? Stop by your local
public library. If you are a resident, the card is free. It's your ticket to
the extra services your library tax dollars provide!
DATABASES AVAILABLE IN ALL MAIN LIBRARIES
These databases are available in all public libraries in MAIN. Some of our most
popular databases are also accessible from your own home computer. All you need
is a valid library card issued by one of the libraries in MAIN. Your patron ID
number is the 13 digit number underneath the barcode on the back of your library
card. Enter the number without the spaces. If you don't have a library card
(or if your card number doesn't work) contact your
local library.
- American National Biography...full-text biographies of 37,000+ prominent Americans from colonial times to present day
- Animals (EBSCO)...a great reference encyclopedia for kids...accessible from home (Searchasaurus)
- Business Source Elite (EBSCO)...use this database to research companies, track industry trends and market research...from 1984 to present...accessible from home
- Contemporary Authors (GALE)...accessible from home
- CountryWatch...country profiles, news, history and statistics...accessible from home
- Custom Newspapers (Infotrac) [Bergen] Record, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, [Newark] Star Ledger & Times of London]...accessible from home
- Facts on File...current and historic events, curriculum resources, science projects...accessible from home
- Health Source Plus (EBSCO)...Consumer Edition and Nursing/Academic Edition indexes hundreds of general health magazines and professional medical journals(many articles full-text) from 1988 to present...accessible from home
- Informe...revistas en enspanol, accessible from home
- Literary Reference Center...biographical information & literary criticism from home
- MagillOnLiterature...literary criticism & Masterplot summaries...accessible from home
- Masterfile Premier (EBSCO)...3000 magazines, 1800 full-text from 1984-present...accessible from home
- Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)...magazine index for kids in grages 6-8...accessible from home (Searchasaurus)
- NoveList Reader's Advisory (Gale)...90,000 novels searchable by genre, author, place & series...accessible from home
- Proquest New York Times Historic (1851-2001)...full-text images, including advertisments [SUBSCRIPTION ENDS SEPTEMBER 2004]
- Proquest Newspapers...9 major U.S. papers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, Atlanta Constitution/Journal and USA Today. Coverage varies...accessible from home
- Proquest Research II...magazines and journals, many full-text. Coverage 1970s+ (varies)...accessible from home
- Primary Search (EBSCO)...magazine index for kids in grades K-5...accessible from home (Searchasaurus)
- Reference USA...company profiles & custom lists. Accessible from home.
- Star Ledger/Trenton Times/Jersey Journal...full text articles, searchable by keyword/Star Ledger begins May, 1989
ATLASES & MAPS - Automap Trip Planner.....Dover
- Cartopedia: World Reference Atlas.....Morristown
- Digital Sanborn Maps (New Jersey).....Morristown
- Map'N'Go.....Mendham Twp., Randolph
- Microsoft Encarta World Atlas.....Dover (1997)
- Morris County Tax Board Records.....Morris County Library (tax, flood plain & zoning)
- NJ Parcel Map.....Morris County Library (tax, flood plain & zoning maps, Morris County only)
- Street Atlas USA (Delorme).....Madison, Mendham Twp., Morris County Library*
- USA Explorer.....Pequannock
- U.S. Atlas (Mindscape).....Mendham Twp.
- World Atlas (Mindscape).....Mendham Twp.
- World Geography.....Morristown
* staff search only
BIBLIOGRAPHY & CITATION
- BooksInPrint.com.....Butler, County College of Morris*, Denville, Madison, Morris County Library, Mount Olive*
- iPage (Ingram).....Morris County Library*
- MARCIVE.....County College of Morris
- OCLC FirstSearch.....Morris County Library*
- Title Source (Baker & Taylor).....Mt. Olive*, Randolph*, Rockaway Twp., Washington Twp.*
- Ulrich's +.....Morris County Library*
* staff search only BIOGRAPHY
- American National Biography.....available at all MAIN Libraries
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index.....Morris County Library, Morristown (part of Ancestry Plus)
- Contemporary Authors...available at all MAIN Libraries, accessible from home
- Current Biography Index.....Randolph (1940-1996)
- Dictionary of American Biography.....Chatham
- Facts on File.....available at all MAIN Libraries
- Marquis Who's Who.....Madison, Morris County Library, Morristown
- Wilson Biographies.....Chester, Rockaway Twp.
* staff search only BUSINESS & INVESTMENT
- ABI/INFORM.....County College of Morris
- American Business Disc (ABI).....Mendham Twp.
- Business & Company Resource Center (Gale).....Morris County Library
- Business Source Elite (EBSCO).....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home
- DIALOG Business & Industry.....Morris County Library
- Dun's Million Dollar Database.....Chatham, Chester, Florham Park, Morristown (part of Mergent Online)
- F & S Index International......Morris County Library (1990-4/1996)
- F & S Index USA.....Morris County Library (1991-1996)
- Mergent News Reports.....Morris County Library
- Mergent Online (U.S. company data).....Chatham, Chester, Florham Park, Morristown (includes Dun's Million Dollar Database)
- Morningstar(mutual funds)...Morris County Library
- Reference USA.....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
- Standard & Poor's Net Advantage.....Morris County Library, Morristown
- Standard & Poor's Outlook.....Morris County Library
- Standard Rate & Data Service.....Morris County Library (except radio & television)
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers.....Florham Park
- Valueline Investment Survey.....Kinnelon, Mendham Boro, Morris County Library, Mountain Lakes
* staff search only DICTIONARIES
- American Heritage Dictionary.....Morristown*
- Oxford English Dictionary.....Lincoln Park, Madison, Morris County Library, Mt. Olive
- Shorter Oxford English Dictionary.....Dover
* staff search only
EDUCATION & CAREERS
- College Source.....Chatham, County College of Morris
- ERIC.....County College of Morris; also on the Internet
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
- Compton's Interactive Encyclopedia.....Dover (1997), Long Hill Twp, Morris Plains (1995), Mountain Lakes
- Encyclopedia Americana.....Chester, County College of Morris, Jefferson, Long Hill Twp, Montville, Morristown
- Encyclopedia Britannica.....Butler (1998), Dover (1997), Florham Park, Lake Hiawatha (2002), Lincoln Park, Long Hill Twp, Madison, Pequannock (2004) Randolph
- Grolier's Multimedia Encyclopedia.....Chester, Dover (1997), Morris Plains, Morristown (1999), Pequannock (2003)
- Infopedia.....Mendham Twp.
- Microsoft Encarta.....Dover (1998), Lake Hiawatha (2003), Pequannock (2003)
- Microsoft Encarta Encyclopedia Africana.....Dover
- New Book of Knowledge.....Jefferson, Morristown
- Time (Multimedia) Almanac.....Dover
- World Book Multimedia Encyclopedia.....Butler (2001), Chatham, Dover (1998), Morris Plains, Pequannock (2004), Randolph (1998)
*staff use only
FINE ARTS
- AP Photo.....County College of Morris
- Art Institute of Chicago's With Open Eyes.....Morristown
- Grove Music Online.....County College of Morris
- Prices4Antiques.....Chatham, Chester, Morris County Library, Morristown
- RockBase Plus.....Morris County Library*
*staff search only
FOUNDATIONS
- Foundation Directory Online (Foundation Center).....County College of Morris
GENEALOGY
- AncestryPlus (Gale).....Morris County Library, Morristown
- ArchivesUSA (Proquest).....Morristown
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index.....Morris County Library, Morristown (part of Ancestry Plus)
- Civil War on CD-ROM.....Morris County Library
- Confederate Military History.....Morris County Library
- Daily Record Obituary Index (1953-present).....Morristown*
- Digital Sanborn Maps (New Jersey).....Morristown
- HeritageQuest.....Chester, Morristown [NOTE: this source includes many databases. List here.]
- Index to Griffith's Valuation of Ireland (1848-1864).....Morris County Library
- Madison Eagle Index (1882-present).....Madision
- Military Records: Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors 1775-1782.....Morris County Library
- Military Records: War of 1812 Muster Rolls.....Morris County Library
- Military Records: World War II & Korean Confict Overseas Internments.....Morris County Library
- Passenger & Immigration Lists Index 1538-1940.....Morris County Library
- Pension Index (1883).....Morris County Library
- Periodical Source Index (PERSI).....Morris County Library
* staff search only
HEALTH
- AHA Street by Street Guide to America's Hospitals (1999-2000).....Randolph
- ALT-HealthWatch.....Morris County Library, Morristown
- CINAHL (nursing journals).....County College of Morris
- Health & Wellness Resource Center.....Chatham, County College of Morris
- Health Source Plus (EBSCO).....Consumer and Nursing/Academic editions are available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
- Journal of Pediatric Healthcare.....County College of Morris
- Mayo Clinic Family Health Book.....Long Hill Twp
- Mayo Clinic Total Heart.....Long Hill Twp
- Medline...available on the Internet www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi
- Mosby's Medical Encyclopedia.....Long Hill Twp
- Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database.....Morris County Library
- New England Journal of Medicine.....County College of Morris
- Questionable Doctors.....Morris County Library
HISTORY
- African-American Culture and History.....Chatham
- America: History and Life.....County College of Morris
- ArchivesUSA (Proquest).....Morristown
- Chronicles of the 20th Century.....Morristown
- Civil War on CD-ROM.....Morris County Library
- Complete National Geographic.....Randolph
- Comprehensive Reference Resource Center: September 11, 2001.....Dover
- Confederate Military History.....Morris County Library
- CountryWatch.....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home
- Explorers of the New World.....Dover
- Facts on File.....available at all MAIN Libraries
- Facts.com.....Chatham, Morris County Library
- Famous American Speeches.....Morristown
- Gale's History Resource Center-The Modern World (20th Century only)...Chatham
- Historical Abstracts.....County College of Morris
- Landmark Documents in American History.....Chatham, Mendham Boro
- Scribner's American History & Culture.....Chatham
- Total Civil War Library.....Lincoln Park
- World Book American Reference Library.....Butler, Chatham, Long Hill Twp
LAW & GOVERNMENT
- CQ Weekly & CQ Researcher.....Morristown
- Census of Population and Housing (1990).....Morris County Library (NJ & US)*...also available on the Internet: venus.census.gov/cdrom/lookup/
- GPO Monthly Catalog.....Morris County Library*
- LoisLaw.....Morris County Library (Federal & NJ cases, statutes & regulations)
- Municipal Code of Jefferson Township.....Jefferson
- New Jersey Administrative Code (West).....Montville
- New Jersey Statutes Annotated (West).....Montville. State laws and bills area also available on the Internet from the NJ Legislative home page: www.njleg.state.nj.us.
- United States Code.....Montville (USCA/West). The US Code is also available on the Internet from the House of Representatives Web site: law2.house.gov/usc.htm
LITERATURE
- American Humanities Index.....County College of Morris
- Columbia Granger's World of Poetry.....Chatham, Madison, Morris County Library*, Morristown*
- Comprehensive Shakespeare Dictionary (Oryx).....Butler
- Contemporary Authors (Gale).....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home
- DISCovering Poetry (Gale).....Chatham
- Exploring Poetry (Gale).....Chatham, Morristown*
- Gale's Quotations: Who Said What?.....Madison, Morristown*
- Literary Reference Center...available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home
- Literature Resource Center (Gale).....County College of Morris, Madison, Parsippany, Lake Hiawatha, and Mount Tabor
- LitFinder (formerly PoemFinder).....Chatham, Chester, Morris County Library*, Rockaway Twp.
- MLA Bibliography.....County College of Morris, Morris County Library
- MagillOnLiterature.....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
- NoveList Readers Advisory.....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
- Poem Finder.....see LitFinder (above)
- Roth's World of Poetry.....Chatham
- World's Best Poetry on CD.....Morristown*
* staff search only
MAGAZINES & JOURNALS
- Academic Search Premiere (EBSCO)...County College of Morris
- AP Photo.....County College of Morris
- Complete National Geographic.....Randolph
- Expanded Academic (Infotrac).....County College of Morris
- Facts on File.....available at all MAIN Libraries
- Facts.com.....Chatham, Morris County Library
- Informe (Spanish language periodicals--en Espanol).....available at all MAIN Libraries
- JSTOR (Scholarly Journal Archive).....County College of Morris
- LEXIS-NEXIS Academic.....County College of Morris
- LEXIS-NEXIS reQUESTer.....Morris County Library*
- MasterFile Premier (EBSCO).....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
- Proquest PA Research II Periodicals.....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
NEWSPAPERS
- Custom Newspapers (Bergen Record, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Newark Star Ledger, Times of London).....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
- Daily Record Index (1993-present).....Morristown*
- Jersey Journal/ Jersey City, NJ (1999-present).....available at all MAIN Libraries
- LEXIS-NEXIS reQUESTer.....Morris County Library*
- Madison Eagle Index (1882-present).....Madison
- New York Times OnDisc.....Montville (1997-2001)
- Proquest New York Times Historic (1851-2001).....available at all MAIN Libraries [SUBSCRIPTION ENDS SEPTEMBER 2004]
- Proquest Newspapers .....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
- Star-Ledger (1989-present).....available at all MAIN Libraries February 2001-present is accessible from home.
- Suburban Trends (1951-present).....Lincoln Park (local newspaper)
- Trenton Times (1993-present).....available at all MAIN Libraries
- Wall Street Journal.....Kinnelon
REAL ESTATE
- NJ Parcel Map.....Morris County Library (property data & zoning/flood maps; Morris County only. Sortable & downloadable.)
- Tax Board records/County of Morris...Morris County Library (current property data only)
RECREATION & TRAVEL
- Official Airline Guide (North American Edition).....Morris County Library
- National Parks--Multimedia Family Guide.....Pequannock
- Prices4Antiques.....Chatham, Chester, Morris County Library, Morristown
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
- Access Science.....Chester
- Amazing Animals.....Pequannock
- Animals (EBCSO).....Available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home.
- Animals (Mindscape).....Mendham Twp., Mt. Olive
- Bodyworks Voyager.....Long Hill Twp.
- Complete National Geographic.....Randolph
- Encyclopedia of U.S. Endangered Species.....Randolph
- Eyewitness Encyclopedia of Science (Dorling Kindersley).....Morristown
- Eyewitness Ultimate 3D Skeleton (Dorling Kindersley).....Morristown
- How Your Body Works.....Dover
- Life in the Universe (Stephen Hawking).....Dover
- McGraw-Hill Multimedia Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.....Long Hill
- Planets--Scientific American Library.....Butler
- Popular Science.....Chester
- ScienceDirect.....County College of Morris
- Science on File.....Dover
* staff search only
SOCIAL SCIENCE
- Academic Index (Infotrac).....County College of Morris
- African-American Culture & History.....Chatham
- American Humanities Index.....County College of Morris
- Communication and Mass Media Complete.....County College of Morris
- CountryWatch.....available in all MAIN Libraries. Accessible from home
- Culture Grams Worldwide Edition.....Randolph (2004)
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures.....Chatham
- ERIC.....County College of Morris, Available on the Internet
- Philosopher's Index.....County College of Morris
- PsychINFO.....County College of Morris
- Scribner's American History & Culture.....Chatham
SPANISH LANGUAGE
- INFORME (IAC).....available at all MAIN Libraries. Accessible
from home.
* staff search only
Survey conducted by
Lynne Olver,
Morris County Library
|